Barry Thaggard May & Bailey, LLP Attorneys at Law

(601) 693-2393
Toll Free: 1-800-813-3037

Office address:
505 Constitution Ave.
Meridian, MS 39301

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 2009
Meridian, MS 39302

Barry, Palmer, Thaggard, May & Bailey, LLP


Barry, Thaggard, May and Bailey, LLP evolved from Bourdeaux & Jones, LLP, which began as a small firm that was formed in 1946 by George M. Etheridge, Jr. Thomas D. Bourdeaux joined the firm in 1956 and Thomas R. Jones joined the firm in 1958. Initially Bourdeaux & Jones was primarily a defense firm, concentrating on healthcare, government law, insurance defense, and civil litigation.

Our Founders

George M. Etheridge
George M. Etheridge, Jr.
Thomas D. Bordeaux
Thomas D. Bourdeaux
Thomas R. Jones
Thomas R. Jones

In Memoriam - Henry W. Palmer

March 17, 1948 - July 16, 2014

Henry Palmer joined the firm in 2014 before his untimely death.  He was a respected, accomplished and experienced trial attorney in civil and criminal matters.  He was elected and served as District Attorney and as Circuit Judge for the 10th Judicial District.  He successfully tried civil and criminal cases for both plaintiffs and defendants to jury verdicts.

Mr. Palmer represented the Kemper County Board of Supervisors for more than 20 years and served as the attorney for the City of Meridian’s Civil Service Commission and for the Lauderdale County Tourism Commission.

A former President of the Lauderdale County Bar Association, Mr. Palmer was appointed to the Advisory Committee to the Mississippi Supreme Court that drafted the Mississippi Rules of Civil Procedure, Mississippi Rules of Evidence, and Uniform Jury Instructions. He also served on committees that assisted the U.S. District Courts in filling judicial positions.

Mr. Palmer was a former President of the Mississippi Association of County Board Attorneys Association and served as President of both the North Meridian Optimist Club and Meridian Jaycees. Mr. Palmer was chairman of Lauderdale County’s first March of Dimes Walk-A-Thon.